A Note from the President



I wish to extend a warm welcome to everyone for the 83rd annual meeting of the Midwest Economic Association. I have enjoyed working with the other officers to put together what I believe will be another high-quality conference. We have scheduled over 400 research presentations, including special sessions organized by the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (AERE), the Committee for the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP), the Society of Labor Economists (SOLE), and the Federal Reserve Economic Database (FRED) among others.

Members from all over the United States as well as Canada, China, Colombia, Denmark, Germany, Japan, Nepal, Taiwan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom will travel to this year’s meeting in St. Louis to present their research. In addition to distinguished faculty and professionals in the field of economics and business administration, we have papers from many PhD students as well as twenty papers by undergraduates selected for presentation at five special undergraduate sessions.

This year’s presenter of the C. Woody Thompson Guest Lecture is Dr. William N. Evans, Keough-Hesburgh Professor of Economics at the University of Notre Dame. Professor Evans is an applied microeconomist and works on topics in labor economics, the economics of education, public finance, and health economics. He is a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research. Evans is also co-founder of the Wilson Sheehan Lab for Economic Opportunities (LEO), a unique research center that partners with local service providers such as Catholic Charities to provide evidence-based poverty solutions. His plenary lecture, on Friday, March 15, at 5:30 pm, will discuss some ongoing work at LEO and is entitled “Fighting Poverty One Family at a Time: Experimental Evidence on Two Intensive Case Management Interventions.”

I will deliver the presidential address at the second plenary session on Saturday, March 16, at 5:30 pm. My lecture, "Prejudicial Tastes and Labor Market Outcomes," will examine the role that prejudice-based discrimination might play in determining enduring differences in market outcomes and the challenges economists confront in measuring the effect of prejudicial sentiment.

The Midwest Economics Association is deeply grateful to its sponsor institutions: The University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy, the Becker Friedman Institute at the University of Chicago, and the Center for Research in Economics and Strategy at the Washington University of St. Louis Olin Business School. The generous financial support of these organizations contributes to the MEA’s mission to promote the advancement of economic knowledge and the economics profession through the annual forum.

I personally want to thank the other officers of the MEA for their help in organizing the conference and electing new officers, specifically, First Vice President Mariacristina De Nardi, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis; Second Vice President Kathy Krynski, Kenyon College; and Past President Ellen McGrattan, University of Minnesota. I especially want to thank the team at Grinnell College: MEA Secretary-Treasurer Keith Brouhle and Managing Secretary Angela Winburn.

At the conclusion of my presidential address on March 16, the MEA will hold its annual business meeting. Everyone is invited to attend. At that time, I will turn over the job of president to Christopher J. Waller of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Next year, the annual meeting will be held in Evanston, Illinois. I have every confidence that Chris and the rest of the leadership team will oversee another excellent installment of the annual MEA meeting when we assemble in 2020 for the MEA's 84th annual meeting.

Warmest regards,

Kerwin Charles, President